UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets

ABI/INFORM Global via ProQuest

Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance

Contents and Access

What does this database contain?
ABI/INFORM Global provides access to journal articles relating to business and management issues including business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management and marketing techniques, and competitive and product information.

Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z

Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students. 

Full Text of articles available online?
Approximately 1800 journal titles are indexed and abstracted with articles from approximately 500 of them available in full text.

Language of articles?
English and a few modern languages.

What is the date coverage of citations?
Articles cited in the database are from 1971 to current.

List of publications included in this database?
Yes.  Click on the "Collections" icon at top of Main Search Page. Move your pointer over a collection name for a brief description and a journal list. You may also add other collections to your search from this page.

Searching

Basic search terms?
and (all terms must be present)
or (at least one of the terms must be present)
and not (combines term that must be present with term that must not be present)

How do I search for a name?
For authors of articles and other items, type in the author name and select "Author" from the pull down field menu.
For company names, select "Company/Org" and for names of people select "Personal Name" from the pull down field menu.

What major fields are available for searching?
"Citation and Abstract " (words found in Author/Date/Subject/Article Title/Abstract/Company Name/Geographical Name/Personal Name/Product Name/Publication Name/Text fields)
"Author" (words in author field)
"Document Title" (words in article titles)
"Company/Org." (company names)
"Publication Title " (titles of journals)
For additional fields, choose from the pull down field menu.

Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
Yes.  Click the "Browse Lists" icon at top of the Search Page to view alphabetical lists of subjects, people, places, and companies.

How do I limit by Date?
Create a date range by choosing months from pull down menus and entering years.

Truncation?
Use * to retrieve various ending forms of a word  (exp: politic* = politic, politics, political, politician...)
Use ? for a single character  (exp: wom?n = woman or women; healer? = healer or healers)

Can I further limit my search?
Yes. You may limit the Publication type by selecting "periodicals" or "newspapers" from the Publication type pull down menu. You may also limit the Article Type by selecting from the Article Type pull down menu. Use the check boxes under the date range menus to limit to full text articles or peer reviewed journals.

Can I review my past searches?
Yes, click on "Recent Searches " link at the top of the search page to display your most recent searches.

Display

Special Features?
Check the box next to citations of interest.  Click on the "My Research" tab and select "Create My Bibliography " to display these citations. You may print, e-mail, export, or create links to marked items.

Printing, Downloading, E-mailing

How do I print?
Articles may be available in more than one format.
For abstract, full text, or text+graphics formats click the "Print " button to display a printer-friendly version.  Click your browser's print icon.
For the page image format (PDF) click the print icon just above the article (not your browser's print icon).

Can I download or save marked lists?
Yes. Click on the "My Research " tab and select "Create Your Bibliography " link, choose citations or Documents Summaries" and citation style, and chick "Download" to display citations. Use "Save As" feature to save as a text file.

Can I e-mail an article to myself?
Yes.  After displaying an article or list of articles under the "My Research" tab check the articles you want and click the "Email marked documents " link, fill in the email address, and click "Send Email".

Help

Where do I go for more help?
Click on the "Help" link at the top of thesearch page for more detailed instructions.  Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact us for more assistance: (210)458-4573 or 7515.

What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Electronic: Business and Company Resource, TableBase, Business Source Complete

Related Links

Database News

Report Access Problems

Database Tipsheets

Subject Guides

Conditions of Use

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home

The site you are viewing is Replica. If you have any questions please ask Cynthia Rosas. Thank you.