UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets

A Guide to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index

What is the Arts & Humanities Citation Index?

Finding Citations with Web of Science

Finding Book/Film Reviews using Citation Indexes

What is the Arts & Humanities Citation Index?

The ISI® Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI®) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and  cited references found in over 1,120 of the world’s leading arts & humanities journals. They also cover individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world’s leading science and social sciences journals.

Starting with an older article on a topic of interest, users can identify more recent works that cite that original work in their bibliographies or footnotes.  The rationale behind this concept is that articles citing an older article will be on a similar topic.  It also assists the researcher to identify interconnections among several disciplines, locate updated research, and find retractions and corrections. This type of searching often locates relevant articles that cannot be retrieved through traditional subject-author searching.

Web of Science

Web of Science is the electronic version of the Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. For instructions on using the Web of Science to find who cited an older article, go to: Web of Science: Cited Reference Search

Related Links

Database News

Report Access Problems

Database Tipsheets

Subject Guides

Conditions of Use

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home

The site you are viewing is Replica. If you have any questions please ask Cynthia Rosas. Thank you.