|
Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets
Art Full Text
Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance
Contents and Access
What does this database contain?
Art Full Text indexes articles from more than 550 periodicals published in English, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. Art Full Text also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.Coverage includes archaeology, folk art, painting, architecture, graphic art, photography, art history, industrial design, sculpture, and interior design,among other subjects. For coverage prior to 1984 see Art Index Retrospective.
Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z
Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students.
Full Text of articles available online?
Yes. Full Text coverage is included for selected periodicals beginning in 1997. There are also links to full text articles outside the database.
Language of articles?
English, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish.
What is the date coverage of citations?
Indexing begins with September 1984, and abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full Text coverage begins in 1997. For coverage prior to 1984, see Art Index Retrospective.
List of publications included in this database?
Click on "Help" and then "Journal Directory" tab. Select Art Index/Abstracts/Full Text to view the list of journals. This list can be limited to full text or peer reviewed. Or -- choose "Browse" and search by "Journal Name" to locate a particular journal.
Searching
Basic search terms?
and (finds records that contain both of two terms)
or (finds records that contain either or both of two terms)
not (finds records that contain one term but not another)
in (finds records that contain a term in a specified field)
with (finds records that contain both of two terms in the same field)
What major fields are available for searching?
AB Abstract
AR Artist and Work
AU Authors
DE Descriptors (Subjects)
DT Document Type |
LA Language
PY Publication Year
SO Source (Journal title)
TI Title (Article title) |
Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
Click the Thesaurus button and enter term to retrieve subjects and related terms. Or choose "Browse" to see a list of terms.
How do I make a phrase?
If no operators (and, or, not) are specified, database will assume a phrase.
How do I limit by Date?
On the search page, fill in the desired dates.
Truncation?
Use the asterisk (*) to substitute for any string of zero or more characters.
Example: Cat* retrieves cat, catatonic, category, etc.
Use the question mark (?) to substitute for one character or more.
Example: Dra???t retrieves both draft and draught.
A truncation symbol may not be used as the first character.
Can I review my past searches?
Click on "Search History" on the right side of the screen.
Display
How do I display and sort the articles?
Click on "Customize Display" on the Search Results screen. There are multiple options available for sorting and displaying records.
Printing, Downloading, E-mailing
How do I print?
Mark your records by checking the box next to the desired record(s). Click on "Print/Email/Save" on the Search Results screen.
Can I download or save the list?
Yes. Mark your records by checking the box next to the desired record(s). Click on "Print/Email/Save" on the Search Results screen.
Can I e-mail an article to myself?
Yes. Mark your records by checking the box next to the desired record(s). Click on "Print/Email/Save" on the Search Results screen. Fill in the email information at the bottom of the page, and click "Start".
Help
Where do I go for more help?
Click on "Help" for more detailed instructions, or ask at the Reference Desk for assistance. The phone number is 458-4573.
What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
See also: Art History and Criticism
ARTbibliographies Modern
(Available on-campus only, at workstation B at the Library’s CD-ROM workstations. 1974-Current. 1604 Campus)
Architectural Index (Available at 1604 Campus, Reference Stacks NA 1 .A66)
Art Index (Available at 1604 Campus, Reference Stacks N1 .A78)
|
Related Links
Database News
Report Access Problems
Database Tipsheets
Subject Guides
Conditions of Use
|
 |