|
Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets
Dallas Morning News Historical Archive
Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance
Contents and Access
What does this database contain?
Dallas Morning News Historical Archive
is a historical archive with 1.2 million pages from the Dallas Morning News,
one of the state's oldest continuously published newspapers and a paper of record
for major news and key events and personalities in Texas history.
For more recent issues of Dallas Morning News, search the e-journal locator.
Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z
Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students.
Full Text of articles available online?
Yes, all content is full image and graphics for articles, death and marriage notices,
classified and display advertising, and photographs.
What is the date coverage of articles?
Coverage at present is from 1885 through 1977.
Searching
Basic search terms?
and (all terms must be present)
or (at least one of the terms must be present)
not (term is not present)
adj(x) (words within x words of each other in same order)
near(x) (words within x words of each other, any order)
Default search is for "and"
How do I search for a name?
Ulysses adj2 Grant.
What major fields are available for searching?
|
In "More Search Options":
in all text
headline
author |
Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
No.
How do I make a phrase?
Abraham adj Lincoln or "Abraham Lincoln"
How do I limit by Date?
In Basic Search, chose a date range using the pull down menus.
or enter a customized date in "More Search Options"
You can also browse articles by entering a specific date.
Truncation?
Truncation is automatic. Search terms or parts thereof will be highlighted in the article.
How do I limit by a particular type of article? Can I search
for graphic features such as display ads, photos or comics?
Searches can be limited to articles, matrimony notices, death notices or classified ads
(but not display ads). Other graphic features are available,
such as comics, but not searchable as such. However, these can be viewed by browsing
a particular date and then clicking on the section of the page you wish to display. For printing
portions of a page, see printing tips below.
Can I review my past searches?
Search history is not available.
Display
How do I display and sort the articles?
Basic keyword searches can be returned in relevance ("best matches first") or
"chronological order." Chose display option before submitting search.
Advanced searches are returned in reverse chronological order. After
submitting search, click on underlined titles to view complete article.
What if my article is continued on another page?
If article isn't complete on displayed page, click on "previous article piece"
or "next article piece" in the top bar to display rest of article.
Printing, Downloading, E-mailing
How do I print?
For best results, open article as "Full size Image" to dispaly as a PDF file. You can change the
size of the image by using the Zoom Out or Zoom In feature of PDF.
To print just a selected portion of a page, display page, open in "Full Size Image" (PDF file).
Click Snapshot Tool on toolbar. Pull to outline section you want to print (it will be save to
clipboard). Click print icon on the PDF menu.
To increase size of image, choose "Fit to Paper" from pull down menu.
NOTE: Citation does not print with the article in PDF.
Can I download or save the article?
Yes. At public terminals, choose "File" from the pull down menu at the top of your
browser; choose "save as"; type in a:\mydoc.txt (for floppy); e:\mydoc.txt (for zip drive) or
f:\mydoc.txt (for flash drive). Make sure you give each file a unique name if you are
saving more than one.
Can I e-mail an article to myself?
Right click on the image you want to email, save image to the desktop & send as an email attachment.
Help
Where do I go for more help?
Click on "Help" for more detailed instructions. Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact us for more assistance: (210) 458-4573 or 2446.
What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest), National Newspapers (via ProQuest), Newspaper Source (EBSCO).
See also: under Databases & Article Searching > News Databases or Finding News Resources at the UTSA Library.
Related Links
Database News
Report Access Problems
Database Tipsheets
Subject Guides
Conditions of Use
|
 |