|
Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets
EBSCO Databases
Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance
Contents and Access
What does this database contain?
EBSCO offers a variety of full text and citation databases including Academic Search Complete; Business Source Complete;
Business Wire News; Alt-HealthWatch; Applied Science & Technology Abstracts; Computer Source; ERIC (education);
Health Source: Consumer Edition; Clinical Reference Systems; Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition; MEDLINE;Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia; Newspaper Source;
Professional Development Collection; Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection; Religion &
Philosophy Collection; and Sociological Collection (now part of Academic Search Complete).
Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z
Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students.
Full Text of articles available online?
Some of the individual databases are full text/full image.
Language of articles?
English predominantly.
What is the date coverage of citations?
Varies by database.
List of publications included in this database?
Yes. Click on "Journal Search" icon at top of any Search Page, type in first few words of journal title (without initial a, an or the) and click "Browse" Click on journal title to find more information on journal including full text availability and whether peer reviewed.
Searching
Basic search terms?
and (all terms must be present)
or (at least one of the terms must be present) |
not (term is not present)
w5 within 5 words, any order
n5 within 5 words, exact order |
What major fields are available for searching?
"All Fields" (words found in title/subject headings)
"Author" (words in author field)
"Article Title" (words in the title of articles) |
"Journal" (titles of journals)
"Abstract" (words in summary)
Use check box to search within full text of article (if available) |
Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
Yes. Click on "Subject Search" button at top of page.
How do I make a phrase?
Phrase is the default search (database assumes words are a phrase unless specified otherwise).
How do I limit by Date?
Choose dates from pull down menu "Date Published" under search box.
Truncation?
Use * to retrieve various ending forms of a word (exp: politic* = politic, politics, political, politician...)
Use ? for a single character (exp: wom?n = woman or women; healer? = healer or healers)
Can I further limit my search?
Yes. Depending on the database, searches can be limited to Full Text, Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) with a check box. Searches can also be limited by the title of the publication (magazine).
Can I review my past searches?
Yes, but search history is only available in "Expert Search". Last five searches are displayed. Click "More Search History" tab to see all searches for this session.
Can I search for images?
Yes, but not available in all databases. There are two ways of searching which will have two separate results:
(1) Click on the "Image Collections" button on the top of the search screen. This will bring up thumbnail prints from the Museum of the City of New York/Archive Photos. Click on the image to view full size.
(2) In Expert Search limit to "text with graphic" and search on keywords. Articles retrieved will have imbedded graphics.
Can I search for the Table of Contents for a particular journal?
Yes, search field code JN and "journal title" and DT date in this format: yearmonthday
Example: JN "Biography" AND DT 20011001
Will bring up the table of contents for the October 1, 2001 issue of Biography.
Display
How do I display citations?
After searching, your results will be displayed in reverse chronological order. Click on article title to view citation. Click on "full text" or "full page image" (if available) to see entire article. If there is a camera icon, there is an imbedded image in the text.
Printing, Downloading, E-mailing
How do I print?
Use browser print button to print a single displayed item. To print multiple articles, check off articles desired, click "save" and choose formats. Click "save" again. The citations will display on a single page. Click your browser's print icon.
Can I download or save the list?
Yes. Check off articles to be saved, click "save" button. Under File from the pull down menu at the top of your browser, choose "Save As." Type in a:\mydoc.txt and click on OK. Be sure to give each file a unique name.
Can I e-mail an article to myself?
Yes. Click on "email" button when displaying current item, choose what to email, and include email address(es). To email to multiple addresses, separate addresses with a semicolon (;). In results list, click "email" button. Database will assume you want to email results from current page unless articles are checked. To email multiple formats (both full text and PDF), choose "Citation with any available full text"
Help
Where do I go for more help?
Click "Online Help" at the top of each page for more detailed instructions. Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact us for more assistance: (210) 458-4573 or 2446. See also: Brief searching tips; EBSCO Training Guide (31 pages)
What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Electronic: ProQuest
|