|
Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets
General Science Full Text via WilsonWeb
Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance
Contents and Access
What does this database contain?
The General Science Full Text database selectively indexes and abstracts articles from more than 140 English-languageperiodicals including popular science magazines as well as professional journals.
Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z
Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students.
Full Text of articles available online?
Yes. Full Text coverage for about 35 periodicals begins in 1995. There are also links to full text articles outside the database.
Language of articles?
Most articles are in English, but some are available in other languages.
What is the date coverage of citations?
Indexing coverage begins in May 1984, abstracting in 1993, and full-text in 1995.
List of publications included in this database?
Click on "Help" and then "Journal Directory" tab. Select General Science Index/Abstracts/Full Text to view the list of journals. This list can be limited to full text or peer reviewed. Or -- choose "Browse" and search by "Journal Name" to locate a particular journal.
Searching
Basic search terms?
AND (finds records that contain both of two terms)
OR (finds records that contain either or both of two terms)
NOT (finds records that contain one term but not another) |
IN (finds records that contain a term in a specified field)
WITH (finds records that contain both of two terms in the same field) |
What major fields are available for searching?
You can search within the Author, Title, or Subject fields by clicking in the box on the main search page. You can also add field limits to your search statement.
Example: au=jones patrick AND de=libraries AND py>1995
AB Abstract -- Example: ab=whole language
AU Authors -- Example: au=burgan mary
DE Descriptors -- Example: de=piaget jean
DT Document Type-- Example: dt=book-review
LA Language -- la=spanish |
PD Physical Description -- Example: pd=map
PY Publication Year -- Example: py>1998
SO Source -- Example: so=THE journal
TI Title -- Example: ti=dyslexia |
Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
Click on "Browse." Choose a field label from the pull-down menu to browse within a specific field.
How do I make a phrase?
If operators (and, or, not) are not specified, the database will assume a phrase.
How do I limit by Date?
On the search page, use the pull down menus to choose particular dates. You can also use the PY field limit.
Truncation & Wildcards?
Use the asterisk (*) to substitute for any string of zero or more characters.
Example: educat* = educate, educator, education, educational, etc.
Use the question mark (?) to substitute for either one or zero characters.
Example: wom?n = woman, women, womyn
Example: colo?r = color, colour
A truncation symbol may not be used as the first character.
Can I limit to full text or peer reviewed articles only?
Yes. Use the check boxes under "Limit To" to limit to full text, page image (PDF) or peer reviewed articles. However, this will eliminate articles which may have links to full text outside the database.
Can I review my past searches?
Click on the word "History" on the right side of the screen.
Display
How do I display and sort the articles?
Click on "Change Display Options" on the Search Results screen. There are multiple options available for sorting and displaying records.
Special Features?
On the Search Results screen, there is a "Brief Display" link, which displays your results in a concise format.
Printing, Downloading, E-mailing
How do I print?
Mark your records by checking the box next to the desired record(s). Click on "Print" on the Search Results screen. Click on "Display for Print" at the bottom of the page. Then use the print function on your browser.
Can I download or save the list?
Yes. Mark your records by checking the box next to the desired record(s). Click on "Save" on the Search Results screen. Click on "Save Records" at the bottom of the page. Select where to save the file. If you are using a public workstation, type a:\filename.txt (save as a text document, not as HTML). If you are saving several different result sets make sure to save them with different filenames.
Can I e-mail an article to myself?
Yes. Mark your records by checking the box next to the desired record(s). Click on "Email" on the Search Results screen. Fill in the email information at the bottom of the page, and click "Mail."
Help
Where do I go for more help?
Click on "Help" for more detailed instructions, or contact the Reference Desk for assistance. 1604 Campus: 458-4573, Downtown Campus: 458-2440.
What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Electronic: ScienceDirect; Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
|
Related Links
Database News
Report Access Problems
Database Tipsheets
Subject Guides
Conditions of Use
|
 |