|
Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets
IHS Standards
Contents & Access | Searching | Printing, Downloading, Emailing | Help
Contents and Access
What does this database contain?
IHS Standards offers access to a number of engineering and architecture related standards, including the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (Section II and X), Medical Device standards, and AEC Referenced Standards.
Is Full text available?
Yes, in PDF format.
What is the date coverage for the standards here?
IHS includes Active (current) and Inactive standards. Each standard is also labeled with a more specific status. The top/first status given is the generic document status (Active or Inactive) and the bottom/last is a specific status, or the reason that the generic status was applied. For example, a document may be Inactive (generic) and the specific reason may be that it has been superseded by a later revision (REVD). This is not especially meaningful for Active documents, but to keep the model consistent, CURR is the specific status. All Active (ACTV) documents are Current (CURR), and all Current documents are Active.
Is there a list of standards we subscribe to in the database?
Yes. You can see the broad packages we subscribe to by choosing "Tools" and then "Subscription." To see the specific standards in our subscription, choose "Quick Searches" and then "Subscription Only." You can then sort the list by clicking any of the headers, such as "Org."
Where do I access this database?
Through the library's list of Databases A-Z. Off-campus access requires the UTSA Banner ID and last name.
Do I have to register with IHS account?
No, only if you want to to create a Personal Documents List, Saved Searches, and Last 10 Docs Viewed. The account is free and is not connected to your UTSA Banner ID.
How do I search for a subscribed standard?
Selected "Quick Searches" and then "Subscription Only." Search either by document number or through keywords. For example: Doc. no: ACI 318m or Text: building code requirements for structural concrete. See "Searching" below for more detailed information.
How do I browse for a standard?
Once you have selected "Quick Searches" and "Subscription Only," you can browse standards by selecting "Browse/Refine Search by" and then choosing a particular organization or date, etc. You can also browse by clicking the column headers in the list of subscribed standards, e.g., "Org."
Can I download a standard?
Yes. The standards, however, in IHS are meant as an electronic point-of-reference. As part of the license agreement, downloaded standards cannot be made part of a permanent reference collection.
When I'm done, do I need to logout?
Yes. We are limited to one concurrent user, so it is very important that you click the "Log Out" button in the top right corner of the screen. If you don't, the database will think you're still logged in for some period of time.
Why did I get a message, "All of your organization's document access licenses for this document are in use at this time" ?
We are limited to one concurrent user, so that means that someone else is currently using IHS Standards. Check back at a later time.
Searching
How do I search for a standard?
To search subscribed standards, select "Quick Searches" and then "Subscription Only."
Document Number Searches
- Document numbers can contain alpha and/or numeric characters. Alpha characters can be entered as either upper or lower case — the Doc No field is not case sensitive.
- Example: a400 retrieves ASTM A 400, etc.
- You will find the number entered, plus that number with any revisions, slash sheet specifications, notices, etc. You will also retrieve documents where the number entered is the revision, slash sheet specification, or notice number.
- Example: 38510 retrieves MIL-M-38510, plus all slash sheet specifications, notices, etc. In this example, you retrieve MIL-M-38510 J, MIL-M-38510/1 E, QPL-38510-2, etc.
- You may enter an asterisk (*) wildcard at the beginning, middle, or end of a number:
- Example: *123 retrieves A-A-50123, NF L87-123, XP ENV 1991-2-3. AN31231 REV 2, etc.
- Example: 12*6 retrieves T126, NAS 1206, NASM124786, TR 12596, etc.
- Example: 126* retrieves 126, 1261, 12607, etc.
- Organization abbreviations are allowed in the Doc No field, but they are not necessary. For example, you can type ASTM , ASTM A 29, or A 29. Of course the results will be different for each of these searches.
Text Searches
By default, the Text field searches the Titles and Abstracts of the documents. To search both the Titles and Abstracts and the full text of the documents, click the Include Doc Text check box to the right of the Text search field.
- Alpha characters can be entered as either upper or lower case — the Text field is not case sensitive.
- When you enter multiple words, documents are found containing all words— "and" is assumed between words.
- Example: steel gate valve retrieves only documents containing all three words — steel, gate, and valve. However, the words do not have to be together, or in the order that you typed them.
- Use double quotation marks (") to search for an exact phrase.
- Do not use asterisk (*) wildcards in the Text field. Common word variations, such as plurals and words ending in ing and ed are automatically retrieved. For instance, in the example above both valve and valves are retrieved.
- Your search terms are highlighted in the text of the retrieved documents.
Hint: To limit your results to specific subject areas, you may want to also select an ICS (International Classification for Standards) Code or FSC (Federal Supply Classification) Code from the Browse/Refine Search.
Browse/Refine Search
The Browse/Refine Search drop-down list allows you to search by many parameters. Use this drop-down list to locate the documents you need, or use it in combination with the Doc No and Text search fields.
- Alpha characters can be entered as either upper or lower case — the Text field is not case sensitive.
- When you enter multiple words, documents are found containing all words— "and" is assumed between words.
- Example: steel gate valve retrieves only documents containing all three words — steel, gate, and valve. However, the words do not have to be together, or in the order that you typed them.
- Use double quotation marks (") to search for an exact phrase.
Printing, Downloading, E-mailing
How do I print?
Select the print icon in the Adobe toolbar to print.
Can I download or save a standard?
Yes. Standards open in PDF format. Select the save icon in the Adobe toolbar.
Can I e-mail a standard to myself?
Yes, but not from within the database. You can save a standard and then attach it to an email.
Help
Where do I go for more help?
Click "Help" at the top of each page for more detailed instructions. For general access questions, contact the Reference Desks: (210) 458-4573 or 2446. For more detailed searching and content questions, please contact the Bibliographer for biomedical, civil, or mechanical engineering.
updated 11/02/05 ddz
|
Related Links
Database News
Report Access Problems
Database Tipsheets
Subject Guides
Conditions of Use
|
 |