UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets

MathSciNet: Mathematical Reviews on the Web

Contents & Access | Searching | Printing, Downloading, E-mailing | Help

Contents and Access

What does this database contain?
Created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society, MathSciNet contains approximately 1.85 million mathematical reviews and summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research. MathSciNet is the Web version of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.

Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z

Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students. 

Full Text of articles available online?
Yes, but not in all instances. To see which journals MathSciNet links to at the article level, choose "Journals" and then "View the list of journals for which article or journal Links exist in MathSciNet. The links will not always work, as UTSA Library may not subscribe to the database or journal to which MathSciNet links. In many instances, to find the full text, you will have to use E-Journal Locator or UCAT to see if the library subscribes to the journal or owns the book reviewed.

Language of articles?
English and other modern languages. The language used to search MathSciNet can be changed from the drop-down menu on the homepage. Languages available to search with are English, French, German, Chinese, and Spanish

What is the date coverage of citations?
MathSciNet covers the world's mathematical literature since 1940.

List of publications included in this database?
Yes. Click on "Journals." You can then choose to see a list of abbreviations used for the approximately 1700 serials covered.

Searching

Fields to search:
Review Text searches the full text of reviews.
Anywhere searches all fields.
Author related Searches not only the author(s) of the original document but also other associated names, e.g., editors, translators, the subject of the item when it is a biography.
MSC Primary/Secondary Uses the Mathematics Subject Classification system to search the primary and secondary descriptions of reviews. View the MSC.

Combining terms:
and All terms must be present. Example: differential and order
or Either term can must be present.
not Excludes this term.

Proximity searching:
ADJN ADJN specifies one more than the maximum number of intervening words allowed between the two words connected by ADJN. Example: module adj2 differential (allows one or no words between module and differential.) Consider using proximity searching when you would otherwise use a phrase that contains a preposition, e.g., module of differential. Prepositions like "of" tend to extend query times.

Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
No. The next best thing is to browse the Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC).

How do I limit by Date?
Choose "Full Search" and select a publication year or a range.

Truncation?
Use * to retrieve various ending forms of a word  (example: polygon* = polygon, polygons, polygonal...) The * cannot be used for Mathematical Reviews (MR) Number or Mathematics Subject. Plurals of search terms are automatically searched with or without the *. To restrict the search to a singular term only, use ! at the end of the word.
Use ? for a single character  (exp: wom?n = woman or women; healer? = healer or healers)

Can I further limit my search?
Yes. Under "Full Search" you can limit to books, journals, or proceedings. You can also limit to current issues of CMP or MR.

Can I review my past searches?
No, but you can add up to 50 headlines (reviews) to the clipboard, where you can review them later during your search.

Printing, Downloading, E-mailing

How do I print?
Articles may be displayed in more than one format. After you click on the MR number to view the citation, use the drop-down menu "select alternative format." To print, use the File-Print option in your browser.

Can I download or save marked lists?
Yes. Click on the "Add to Clipboard" tab near each citation. Click "View Clipboard" to view the citations you have saved. By clicking "Save All" you will be able to display the citations in various formats, including ASCII or formatted for EndNote. To save to a disk, use "File" and "Save as" option in your browser.

Can I e-mail an article to myself?
No.

Help

Where do I go for more help?
First try clicking "Help Index" at the top right of the screen. If you are having trouble accessing the database from home, try this link to Off-campus Access to Library Resources or call the library at 458-4573.

08/10/04 ddz

Related Links

Database News

Report Access Problems

Database Tipsheets

Subject Guides

Conditions of Use

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home