UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets

Access World News / Global NewsBank / San Antonio Express-News

Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance

Contents and Access

What does this database contain?
Access World News features full-text news articles from over 1,389 African, Asian, Australian, European and North and South American newspapers. Includes many Texas sources. Global NewsBank contains full-text articles on international issues and events selected from over 100 newspapers from the U. S. and Canada and 1,500 newspapers, wire services, radio and TV broadcasts worldwide. (San Antonio Express-News is a separate database. Does not include articles excerpted from other sources.)

Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z

Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students. 

Full Text of articles available online?
Yes.  All articles are full text.

Language of articles?
All articles are in English.  Non-English sources translated into English.

What is the date coverage of articles?
NewsBank NewsFile (1991-current); Global NewsBank (1996-current); San Antonio Express-News (1990-current).

List of publications included in this database?
A list of news sources included in each available online in "Help"  under "Source List."

Searching

Basic search terms?

and  (all terms must be present)
or at least one of the terms must be present
not (term is not present)
adj(x) (words within x words of each other in same order)
near(x) (words within x words of each other, any order)
with (all words appear in same sentence)
same (all words in same paragraph)

If no operators are specified, "and" is assumed in Keyword and a phrase is assumed in Customized.

How do I search for a name?
As a subject, enter last name, first name under "Topic" or choose from thesaurus.

What major fields are available for searching?

In Customized Search:
in all text
in lead/first paragraph
in headline/title
Topics
Source (publication)
Section (San Antonio Express-News only)
Author (San Antonio Express-News only)

Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
Yes. In Customized search, click on the "Topics" link, type in term you are interested in to see related terms.  Term can be added to your search.

How do I make a phrase?
If no operators (and, or, not) are specified, database will assume "and" in Keyword and a phrase in Customized.

How do I limit by Date?
In Keyword Search, click on radio button to limit to three or six months.   In Customized Search, chose a date range using the pull down menus.

Truncation?
Use * or $ to retrieve various forms of a word.  (replaces up to 5 letters)
KHRU*V (retrieves Khrushchev)
Use ? as a wildcard to replace one letter. (wom?n retrieves woman or women; cat? retrieves cat or cats)

Special Features?
Use pull down menu to re-run search in one of the other two databases.

Can I review my past searches?
You can only view and edit latest search by clicking on "Edit Search" on tool bar.

Display

How do I display and sort the articles?
Keyword searches can be returned in relevance (best matches) or most recent matches first.
Customized searches are returned in reverse chronological order.  After submitting search, click on underlined titles to view complete article.

Printing, Downloading, E-mailing

How do I print?
While viewing article, click on print icon at the top of browser or choose print from the pull down menu under "file" on your browser.  Click "OK" when box appears.

Can I download or save the list?
Yes.  At public terminals, choose "File" from the pull down menu at the top of your browser; choose "save as"; type in a:\mydoc.txt (make sure you give each file a unique name if you are saving more than one); choose "save file type as" and select "Plain Text"; Click on OK.

Can I e-mail an article to myself?
Yes.  While viewing article, click on "e-mail" on top toolbar, enter e-mail address and click "send."

Help

Where do I go for more help?
Click on "Help" for more detailed instructions.  Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact us for more assistance: (210) 458-4573 or 2446.

What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Academic Universe, National Newspapers (via ProQuest), Ethnic NewsWatch.
See also: under Databases & Article Searching > News Databases or Finding News Resources at the UTSA Library.

Related Links

Database News

Report Access Problems

Database Tipsheets

Subject Guides

Conditions of Use

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home

The site you are viewing is Replica. If you have any questions please ask Cynthia Rosas. Thank you.