|
Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets
PAIS ~ Public Affairs Information Service (via CSA)
Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance
Contents and Access
What does this database contain?
PAIS International includes selective indexing to current literature in economics, political science, legislation, government, and social conditions. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, grey literatrue, pamphlets, and reports. Corresponds to citations from the print indexes: PAIS Bulletin, PAIS Foreign Language Index, and PAIS International in Print.
Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under
Databases & Article Searching > A - Z
Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students.
Full Text of articles available online?
No. Citations and abstracts (summaries) only. Check UCAT to see if UTSA owns the journal or book.
Language of articles?
English articles published in 120 countries with some materials in Spanish, Portuguese, German, Italian, French. Can be
limited to "English only in "advanced search".
What is the date coverage of citations?
Articles in the database are from 1972 to current. Updated monthly.
For older articles see print version: Reference H96 .P9 (1604 Campus)
List of publications included in this database?
On the search page, click on the "?" icon next to the database name. Then in left hand column, click on "PAIS International Jouranls List" or "PAIS International Electronic Journals List."
Searching
Basic search terms?
and (all terms must be present)
or (at least one of the terms must be present)
not (must not contain term).
Database assumes "and" between words if not specifically indicated.
How do I search for a name?
In "advanced search" choose "author" from pull down menu, and type last name, first name.
Example: smith, john
What major fields are available for searching?
Use the pull down menu to choose:
"Abstract" (words in summary)
"Author" (author of an article or book)
"Journal Name" (title of a particular journal)
"Title" (words in the title of an article or book)
"Descriptora" (words in the descriptors assigned to an article)
Other fields available
Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
Yes, under "Search Tools" tab.
How do I make a phrase?
Phrase is the default in Quick and Advanced Search. Terms do not need to be placed in quotes.
How do I limit by Date?
In "Advanced Search" choose dates from pull down menus under search box.
Truncation?
Use * to retrieve various forms of a word. May occur at end or within a word.
politic* (retrieves politics, political, politician, politicians, etc.)
Use ? for a single character. (example: fib?? for fiber or fibre)
Can I review my past searches?
Yes. Click "Search History" link at top to review previous searches.
Display
How do I display and sort the articles?
Choose "full format " or "short format " from pull down box to choose how citations will display.
After submitting search, a list of citations to journal articles will appear.
Click on "view record" to see complete record and summary of article. Check UCAT
to see if UTSA owns the journal or book. Use e-journal Locator to see if journal is full text.
Special Features?
Check box next to citations of interest.
After all desired articles are checked, click "Save/Print/Email" to display citations in a single list for printing,
e-mailing or downloading. (See below).
Printing, Downloading, E-mailing
How do I print?
To print all or marked citations, click on "Save/Print/Email" link at top of the search,
choose current search or marked citations, choose a format, and click "print preview. " Citations will appear
in a single list. Click print button at top of browser.
Can I download or save the list?
Yes. To download all or marked citations, click on "Save/Print/Email" link at
top of the search, choose current search or marked citations, choose a format, and click "print preview. "
All records will display in a single list. Under File from the pull down menu at the top of your browser;
choose "save as"; type in a:\mydoc.txt (make sure you give each file a unique name if you are saving more than one);
choose "save file type as" and select "Plain Text"; click on OK..
Can I e-mail an article to myself?
Yes. Click on "Save/Print/Email" link at top of search. Choose current search or marked citations,
choose a format, enter an e-mail address in the box and click "e-mail" button.
Help
Where do I go for more help?
Click on "Help and Support " link at top of screen for more detailed instructions.
Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact us for more assistance: (210)458-4573 or 2440.
What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
EconLit, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts
Print: International Political Science Abstracts in Reference JA36 .I5 (1604 Campus) (1951 - current).
|
Related Links
Database News
Report Access Problems
Database Tipsheets
Subject Guides
Conditions of Use
|
 |