UTSA Library : The University of Texas at San Antonio

Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets

ProQuest

Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance

Contents and Access

What does this database contain?
Provides access to journal articles in a number of databases across all subject areas, with particular strengths in business and the social sciences. Also includes 9 major national newspapers, including Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA TODAY, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Complete content of the following databases is included: ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, Accounting & Tax, Alt-Press Watch, Criminal Justice Periodicals, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, National Newspapers, and ProQuest Research Library. More than 5,500 titles are indexed and abstracted from at least 1971 to the present. Full text and/or images are available for more than 2,000 titles.

Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z

Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students. 

Full Text of articles available online?
Yes. Significant full text and/or images are available.

Language of articles?
English and a few modern languages. You can change the interface to reflect several languages (Chinese, French, Spanish, Korean), but articles will remain in the language they were published in.

What is the date coverage of citations?
Coverage varies. Many items begin coverage in the mid to late 80's.

List of publications included in this database?
Yes. Click on the Publication Search Tab on the main screen. Click on the link- "show all publications"- for a complete list, or do a search by title.

Searching

Basic search terms?
and (all terms must be present)
or (at least one of the terms must be present)
and not (combines term that must be present with term that must not be present)

How do I search for a name?
For authors of articles and other items, type in the author name and select "Author" from the pull down field menu.
For company names, select "Company/Org" and for names of people select "Personal Name" from the pull down field menu.

What major fields are available for searching?
"Citation and Abstract" (words found in Author/Date/Subject/Article Title/Abstract)
"Author" (words in author field)
"Article Title" (words in article titles)
"Publication Title" (titles of journals)
For additional fields, choose from the pull down field menu.

Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
A topic guide and subject directory are available. From the main page click on the "Topic Search" tab. Click on the link "browse the subject directory" for a complete list, or enter a keyword into the search box in order to find a specific subject.

How do I limit by Date?
Choose options for searching by date by using the pull down menu next to "Date Range".

Truncation?
Use * to retrieve various ending forms of a word  (exp: politic* = politic, politics, political, politician...)
Use ? for a single character  (exp: wom?n = woman or women; healer? = healer or healers)

Can I further limit my search?
Yes. You will find additional limiting options if you click on the link "More Search Options". Some of the limiters include searching by person, NAICS Code, within a publication, by publication type, and by company. See the database for the complete list of limiters.

Can I review my past searches?
Yes, in the tool bar toward the top of the page there will be a link to your "recent searches". Clicking on the link will bring up a popup window listing previous searches. Clicking "Add to Search" will allow you to repeat the search or add search terms to it.

Display

Special Features?
You can create a marked list for printing, e-mailing, or saving articles. You can also limit your materials to peer reviewed journals or to full text items only.

Printing, Downloading, E-mailing

How do I print?
Articles may be available in more than one format. After displaying an article, choose from the Article format drop down menu.
For abstract, full text, or text+graphics formats click the "Print Article" icon to display a printer-friendly version.  Click your browser's print icon.
For the page image format (PDF) click the print icon just above the article (not your browser's print icon).

Can I download or save marked lists?
Yes. Click on the "Marked List" tab to display citations. You may print, e-mail, or export marked items.

Can I e-mail an article to myself?
Yes.  After displaying an article, click the "Email Article" icon.

Help

Where do I go for more help?
In the tools bar near the top of the page click on "search tips" for more detailed instructions. To get more information about special features click on the "about" link next to it. Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact us for more assistance: (210)458-4573.

What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Electronic: Academic Search Complete, Academic Universe

Related Links

Database News

Report Access Problems

Database Tipsheets

Subject Guides

Conditions of Use

Ask a Librarian Search Site UTSA Library UTSA Home