|
Library Home » Find Information » Find Databases » Database Tipsheets
PsycINFO via Ovid Web
Contents & Access | Searching | Display | Exporting Results | Further Assistance
Contents and Access
What does this database contain?
PsycINFO covers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, sociology, education, and linguistics, indexes and abstracts articles in more than 1400 journals worldwide as well as books, and book chapters in the English language. Dissertations are also included, although not abstracted.
Where do I access this database?
Through the UTSA Library web page (http://www.lib.utsa.edu) under Databases & Article Searching > A - Z
Available off-campus?
Yes, to UTSA faculty, staff and currently enrolled students.
Full Text of articles available online?
No. Citations and abstracts only. Check UCAT to see if UTSA owns the journal or book. (exp: t=journal of abnormal psychology)
Language of articles?
English and all modern languages. Search may be limited to a specific language. After a search, click on "Limit" at top of Main Search Page and choose a language from pull down menu.
What is the date coverage of citations?
Articles in the database are from 1967 to current. For older articles see the print version: Psychological Abstracts, Reference BF1 .P65 (1928-1966) (1604 Campus).
List of publications included in this database?
Yes. Click on "Journal" icon at top of Main Search Page, type in first few words of journal title (without initial a, an or the) and click "Perform Search." This will put you in the Journal Index Display where you can browse journal titles.
Searching
Basic search terms?
and (all terms must be present)
or (at least one of the terms must be present)
not (term is not present)
How do I search for a name?
For names as subjects (articles about Carl Jung) use Keyword. Type lastname, firstname (or initial). Check "Map Term to Subject Heading" and click "Perform Search." A display of possible matches will appear. Check off all appropriate and click "Continue." For authors of articles and other items, click "Author" icon at top of Main Search Page. Type last name and initial and click "Perform Search."
What major fields are available for searching?
"Keyword" (words found in title/subject headings/abstract/identifiers)
"Author" (words in author field)
"Title" (words in the title of articles)
"Journal" (titles of journals)
Choose "Search Fields" icon for more options.
Is there a thesaurus or subject/term list?
Yes. Check the "Map Term to Subject Heading" box over the search box. Type in a single term or concept. When "Search" is clicked, a display of subject headings will display and can be chosen. Also choose "Tools" from the top of Main Search Page to see if term and/or related terms are in the database.
How do I make a phrase?
Phrase is the default search (the database will assume a phrase if you don't specify "and" or "or")
How do I limit by Date?
Choose dates from pull down menus under search box. Or after a search has been made, click "Limit" icon at top of Main Search Page, check search to be limited, and choose dates from pull down menu.
Truncation?
Use $ to retrieve various ending forms of a word (exp: therap$ = therapy, therapies, therapeutic...)
Use ? for a single character (exp: wom?n = woman or women; healer? = healer or healers)
Can I further limit my search?
Yes. After doing a search, click on the "Limit" icon at the top of the Main Search Page, choose the search to be limited and use pull down menus to select publication types, age groups, etc. Also use the "Combine" icon at the top of the Main Search Page to combine two or more searches with AND or OR.
Can I review my past searches?
Yes, the most recent four searches are displayed on Main Search Page. Click "Expand" tab to see all.
Display
How do I display and sort the citations?
After searching, your search terms and the number of hits will appear on the Main Search Page. Click on "Display" to see the citations for a particular search.
Special Features?
Check the box next to citations of interest. Use the Citation Manager found on any Titles Display page to print, e-mail or download marked items. (See below.)
Printing, Downloading, E-mailing
How do I print?
Use Citation Manager at bottom of any Titles Display page. Choose citations to be printed, fields to be printed, and click "Display." The citations will display on a single page. Click your browser's print icon.
Can I download or save the list?
Yes. Using Citation Manager at bottom of any Titles Display page, choose citations to be downloaded, fields to be included, and click "Display." The citations will display on a single page. Under File from the pull down menu at the top of your browser, choose "Save As." Type in a:\mydoc.txt and click on OK.
Can I e-mail an article to myself?
Yes. Using Citation Manager at bottom of any Titles Display page, choose citations to be e-mailed, fields to be printed, and click "e-mail." Enter an e-mail address in the box, and click "send e-mail."
Help
Where do I go for more help?
Click on "Help" at the top of any PsycINFO page for more detailed instructions. Feel free to ask at the Reference Desk or contact us for more assistance: (210) 458-4573 or 2440.
What other databases/indexes would give me more information like this?
Electronic:Sociological Abstracts
|